Weekly Wedding Favorites

I said it last week, and I’ll say it again: this week flew by. That may be due to the fact that one of my best friends came in for a whirlwind weekend, which included days in Philly, NYC, and Bear Creek Mountain. Insane? Absolutely. Best weekend ever? I think yes.

Even though I felt like I was living in a town called Crazy this week, I still had time to search for inspiration. Below are this week’s Weekly Wedding Favorites.

Favorite fun activity:

photo courtesy Going to the Chapel

I really love to go skiing; however, another fun winter activity is ice-skating, which just happened to be one of the events of last weekend. My friend and I spent two awesome hours ice-skating at the Wollman Rink in Central Park. We had unlimited skating time, and the view? It was to die for, as you can partially see in the photo above. We loved that the rink was larger than the ones found in Rockefeller Center and Bryant Park, but the Wollman Rink felt equally as festive and enjoyable. Of course, if you’re not looking to go to NYC, you can also check out the River Rink at Penn’s Landing, which will also provide a fun night with beautiful views.

Favorite viral video:

Oh my, don’t even get me started on my love of the Olympics. Does anyone else count down the years and months until competition starts again? With this in mind along with my love of proposal videos, you can only imagine how excited I was when Brides posted the above video on their blog. USA swimmer Matt Grevers had planned to propose to girlfriend Annie Chambers at the top of the metal stand at the Missouri Grand Prix. Thankfully, Matt nabbed first place in his event, and when it was suggested that Annie join her (almost) fiancé on the metal stand for photos, she happily obliged. The moments that followed, including Annie’s expression, are so sweet.

Favorite stationary:

photo courtesy Cami's Paperie

I saw this post on Em for Marvelous this week, and I thought her fiancé’s way of asking his groomsman to be a part of the wedding day was so creative! However, if you are looking to mail your maid of honor, bridesmaids, and flower girl a note, I am definitely a fan of the above design by Cami’s Paperie. Although it’s always nice to ask people in person, if distance separates you (or even if it doesn’t!), I don’t know of too many people who don’t love receiving a message in the mail from a friend on customized stationary.

Favorite cake:

photo courtesy Pinterest & Southern Weddings

I have to admit, this bow cake is not from the past week. It’s been on my Pinterest board just waiting to be posted, and it may have arrived two weeks ago. Putting time aside, it caught my eye the moment I saw it while reading about this couple. I love how the bow is delicately draped in the front of the cake, and I also may be a huge fan of the floral arrangement, too. The fact that it is void of any color or overwhelming details, yet still looks so unique and striking makes it a winner. Although pictured at a more informal wedding, this cake would be equally as perfect at a formal affair. A posting delay does not matter when you have a cake that is such a unique winner!

Favorite Valentine’s Day Story:

photo courtesy Pinterest

I nearly cried when I saw the photo of the man pictured above on Facebook and again on Pinterest, and then I read the story behind the photo which was taken by a fellow shopper.

Today I was in Hallmark buying my mom a Happy Birthday card when I noticed this old man stnding in front of the Valentines card section contemplating which one to get. I decide to go over and I asked him “Are you getting a Valentine’s Day for your wife?” in which he replies, ‘No my wife died 3 years ago from breast cancer but I still buy her roses and a card and bring them to her grave to prove to her that she was the only one that will ever have my heart.’

Pure everlasting love and devotion is beautiful and endearing. Senior citizens win…always.

What are some of your favorites from this week? What did you do for Valentine’s Day? Enjoy your weekend! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Weddings

Leave a Reply

